Face to face with fashion student Raymond Salazar !

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 12.33.19 AM

He may not be famous..yet, but his taste in fashion is rich! Good looks and a great sense of style are not all Ray Salazar has to offer to the fashion world. His creativity is his passion. Seriously, his head is full of explosive ideas of what style is supposed to look like and his creations are oh so sweet. I had the pleasure of interviewing Mr.Salazar this evening about the love of his life; fashion. What he had to say was intensely compelling.

Who or what inspired you to become a fashion designer?
I always hated fashion when I was young I thought it was superficial, it still can be at times but I remember when I was in high a school I followed tumblr blogs that would show art, fashion and photography and there was a video of Alexander Mcqueen’s spring summer 1998/1999 collection titled no.13 it to me was another form of art, another monster of it’s own like art. I was drawn in from there learning all I could about fashion design.

What is your favorite part about what you do in the fashion industry?
Creating 3d garments from an abstract or idea and seeing it develop to something tangible is my favorite it’s exciting to see what you’ve seen visually in your head become a reality and translate that emotionally through the work.

What is the most difficult part about creating your work?
There’s a lot of difficulties but those are a good sign. If my work becomes too easy or comfortable I’m doing something wrong problems, a rise from working out construction, meeting deadlines,

How important are looks to you and why?
Very incredible in a collection each look has it’s purpose, they can stand perfectly fine on their own but together they are a piece of a puzzle, you need to see the whole to understand the concept.

In this industry you have to be tough but voluntarily enough to allow your emotions to rule your creativity, would you describe your work as something that comes within or something that includes outside world inspiration?

Very much something that comes from within mood boards and journals aren’t that helpful, my ideas are like light flashes they come based how feel in that moment it could be from walking down the street, how felt seeing a film, listening to music, but I do gather inspiration when needed it keeps me balanced.

What are you planning to do after you graduate?
To get a job either in design, patternmaking or tailoring. I don’t want to stop learning I want to absorb as much as I can.

Where will you live? Who will you work for?
Possibly London for that’s where it’s all at. You have saville row, menswear fashion is happening there and a great environment. I’d like to work for brands commes des garcon, raf simons, Jw¬†Anderson, a brand with a great concept and innovation.

Why should someone hire you to be their right hand man in the fashion industry?
I’d rather be the left hand.

How well do you work under pressure?
I feel I must so I try not to fall under pressure I haven’t yet.

What are you willing to do to succeed in this industry?
I’m willing to work hard to success is subjective to me . I want to work to live not live to work. Fashion is not everything to me.

How will you help change the world with your work?
Not sure that I can but I’d like to change the way people perceive and feel fashion design and possibly make it easier for young talent to prosper.

Do you love what you do? If yes why if no why? why if no why?
Yes, it is the most stimulating thing to do for me, to create something emotional and new that others can feel is why I do what I do.

Some of Raymond Salazar’s most recent work.

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 12.33.07 AMScreen Shot 2014-10-26 at 12.33.35 AM

Leave a Reply

